Welcome to the website of the Rulenge-Ngara Diocese

Father Sixmund Nyabenda an volunteer Justus MünchThanks to the designer of the website, Marcus Herz, who created this in coorperation with the in Munich located organization BDKJ and the Diocese of Rulenge-Ngara over the German "Weltwärts" program. For the website the under free GNU GPL license software drupal is used.
Now the german volunteer Justus Münch and Father Sixmund Nyabenda welcome everyone to the website of the Rulenge-Ngara Diocese in the Kagera region in western Tanzania. The diocese is located in the great lake region of Lake Victoria. On the western side is Burundi and Rwanda. 

Five Year Plan


This is a key document for the future of the diocese of Rulenge-Ngara and its people in the next five years.
Attach Original File: 

History of the Diocese

History of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Rulenge-Ngara

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Rulenge-Ngara is  located in the Ecclesiastical Province of Mwanza in Tanzania. Formerly, Rulenge-Ngara Diocese was a part of Rulenge Diocese that was originally a part of Bukoba Diocese. The Diocese of Bukoba  was first established as an Apostolic Vicariate of Bukoba from the Diocese of Tabora in Tanganyika and an Apostolic Vicariate of Uganda in Uganda on April 8, 1929. It was raised to the status of a Diocese on December 13, 1951 and the part of Bukoba Diocese that would later form a major part of Rulenge Diocese was renamed as Lower Kagera (Rutabo Diocese) under the late Bishop Alfred Lanctot, M.Afr. 


Geographical location:

The Diocese of Rulenge-Ngara is situated in the North - Western corner of Tanzania within Kagera Region, covering an area of 13,004 km² out of 40,838 km² Kagera Region.The Diocese Borders with the countries of Rwanda in West, Burundi in South, to the east are the shores of Lake Victoria and Muleba District. The diocesan headquarters including the Bishop’s House are situated in Ngara, 45 km from Rulenge Pro-Cathedral.

The diocese covers a geographical area of three administrative districts of Ngara,  Biharamulo and Chato. It is divided into three ecclesiastical deaneries of Ngara, Biharamulo, and Chato with a 300,000  catholic population and15 parishes. (Source: Rulenge-Ngara Diocesan Pastoral reports 2007).

Map of the diocese

Attach Original File: 
Syndicate content